Confused about nfp

I’ve read many of the threads about the use of nfp on this site and I’m still a bit confused on a few things. What exactly counts as a just reason to use nfp? I’m not married yet and I would like to have kids someday but I dont think I would want a large family. Is it selfish/sinful to use nfp to limit the number of kids you have because you want to have a moderate number of children(say 3-4) because you think you will be able to provide that number a good quality of life etc?

Some posters seem to think that using nfp and limiting the number of kids you have is sinful. I’m no expert but I think its irresponsible to have a large family that you cant adequately provide for. Honestly I’d like to have 3-4 kids so that I would be able to provide for them the best that I can, and still have some time/money to go places and do things-is this a sinful use of nfp?. I come from a family of 3 kids and I think that my parents did a good job.

One last question- if a newlywed couple is in a fertile time during their honeymoon can they abstain/use nfp because they are still getting used to the whole being married thing/ dont think they are quite ready for parenthood yet?

Sorry for so many questions, Im just a bit confused:D
thanks!

[quote="MtnMan, post:1, topic:244365"]
What exactly counts as a just reason to use nfp?

[/quote]

I suggest you read Humanae Vitae.

The Church does not provide a list. There isn't a list of "what counts" because "what counts" is prayerful discernment of the couple using objective moral criteria as their guide.

My prayerful discernment and your prayerful discernment will not look the same.

Is it selfish/sinful to use nfp to limit the number of kids you have because you want to have a moderate number of children(say 3-4) because you think you will be able to provide that number a good quality of life etc?

[/quote]

I suggest you discern more on why you think you need to have a number in your head before you are even married.