Confused: Catholicism VS. What actually happens in parishes

I'm having a really hard time coping with the discouragement and disappointment that keeps being hurled at me from every angle since my conversion. The latest hurtle is confession.

1. I know how these threads usually go. I have never, EVER voiced my discouragements and let ANYONE in our parish know what I'm struggling with. As far as they all know I'm perfectly happy. So no, this isn't a reaction of people who are getting frustrated with dealing with my complaints.

2. I am only in my third year in this faith.

Confession via Catholicism.

When I read these forums, browse Catholic websites or just read the Catechism I'm told that Confession is good. It's important. I'm told we can and if so disposed SHOULD attend regularly. I read that it's good to go, even for venial sins. I'm encouraged to go, go, go.

Confession in Reality

Since my conversion I have had to struggle to get confession. There is no set time for confessions. You have to book an appointment. I would book appointments, the priest wouldn't show up or he'd forget I was coming. I would write emails and confirm appointments and they would still not show up.

I finally found a confessor who seemed good. He would hear confession before Mass, after Mass, anytime. Again he would forget if I actually made a proper appointment but I just started going to him prior to Mass to alleviate that.

Recently he was moved to a neighboring parish.

I joked to some fellow parishioners about traveling to confess to him and I was scolded. I was told I should only hear confession in my own parish.

Fine. I made the decision to do that. I made the appointment for myself and my cousin (who travels here for confession because we have confessional booths. Her parish doesn't and she doesn't like face to face confession).