Consecration to Mary

I am confused.:hmmm: As I understand it, in St. Louis de Montfort’s consecration to Mary a person offers all their works, sacrifices and prayers for Mary to dispose of as she wants to. I think it’s also like that in the Kolbe consecration to Mary. My question is, can you still pray specifically for other people, or do your prayers of intercession need to be general so that Mary can dispose them where she wants to?

Thanks for answering!

I’m no expert, so speaking from ignorance… :smiley:

Mary wants to lead us to Jesus (“do whatever he tells you”). The point of consecrating oneself to her is grow closer to Jesus. So I don’t think she’d have a problem with asking intercession of other saints–just doesn’t seem like her. She loves all people with the heart of a mother and that love is never jealous. So she wants us to pray and I think the more we do so, the happier she’ll be.

jb

In St. Louis de Montfort’s book, he says we can indeed make specific requests of Mary. However, we submit completely to her right to supersede our requests or reject them. All requests must be made in perfect humility, in the willingness to accept her will even when she refuses us.

She is the Queen of our prayers and gifts. We can make requests, but she delivers the verdict, and she can say no to us or yes and we are glad to have her dispose of our goods and offerings in the way she has in mind above whatever way we have in mind. All that we have belongs to her. We are only making recommendations, just requests, for how she use property that is hers to do with as she wills, and she is not bound to obey us. However, she is a most gracious Queen, so she tends to help us a whole lot. :thumbsup:

I really am not trying to be flippant…dosen’t that describe what prayer is all about anyway? I can’t imagine demanding God to fulfill my desires. Begging yes, demanding no:p