Considering a switch to Teaching

I would love to hear from any of you who may be teachers, or perhaps have loved ones/friends who are teachers.

A bit of backstory:

I have been out of college for a year, and have been blessed with a stable full time job. This job has allowed me to save money for an eventual downpayment (I’d love to have a family someday), and has been helping to pay for graduate tuition. I’ve gained some good skills, and have met some cool people. But within all of these perks, I don’t feel satisfied. I’ve gained enough insight to know I don’t want an impersonal office job.

Recently, a friend asked me to help him teach at his church (he is a youth minister), and the idea of helping with CCD really excited me! However, it fell on the one night a week that my graduate class fell on. Ever since then, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the idea of teaching. I look back at my past jobs while I was a student (Toys “R” Us in high school = kids, helping with the county’s summer school program = students, assisting with some undergrad classes at my college = students, RA [resident advisor] for 2 and a half years = students). When I think back to these, the pattern of working with kids and/or students becomes apparent. So, I’ve been thinking about the subjects I enjoyed as a student and the passions I have now, and have come up with the idea of physical geography/earth sciences, etc. Seems there is a critical need for earth science teachers in my county, and an interest in hiring more male teachers. 2 points for me :thumbsup: