Considering becoming a Catholic - at University next month

Hello there, I’ve been browsing this forum for a couple of months but only just plucked up the courage to dive in and ask a few questions.

Note: I’m British and this is probably a UK-specific question.

I’m starting University at the end of September and I’ve decided I’m going to be attending Mass at the University Chaplaincy. I’ve decided I want to convert to Catholicism because of studying, prayer and other reasons.

For a bit of background, I’ve been studying philosophy/religion at sixth form college for the past two years and I’m very interested in religion. I’ve been reading widely on philosophy and religion and I found that the Catholic Church’s teachings and views really spoke to me and made a lot of sense. I was a member of the Christian Union, led by a tutor who was Catholic, and found that the most religious people were all Catholics. I took part in a trip to Rome earlier this year, visiting the Vatican (shortly after Pope Benedict’s resignation!!). I can’t entirely explain how much this trip affected me, but it made me more and more interested in the Catholic Church.

I am a baptised Christian (C of E) and have attended a Methodist Church for many years. I have become more active in recent years and actually became a Member last year (nowhere near as formal as being confirmed - membership is renewed every year). However, I’ve been very dissatisfied with the ‘contemporary’ worship at this Church. I didn’t feel nearly as at home as I did at my local Catholic Church, where it is more solemn .