Considering Priesthood...Having Doubts (Explained in thread)

Hello everyone,
I don’t often post on here, but I felt I needed opinions and thoughts or anything I can get. Sorry for the long message, here is the place to stop reading if you don’t like reading lengthy posts.

Basically – for the past few months now I’ve been thinking about becoming a priest (more seriously than before). I am currently a first year undergraduate, studying Bioengineering. I’ve talked to a priest in my parish when I was home for a weekend and he just advised me to pray and to wait – since I am only at the beginning of my “discernment” and it will take a significant amount of time to be (more) sure or at least to have a better idea.

On one hand, I am - like never before - interested in Catholicism. I like reading books about it (which previously I found exceedingly boring, but now I find interesting), I have been more interested in philosophy and theology (which I have begun to study more on my own time), I found out that I really like listening to people and their problems and giving advice to them, and finally I learned that I am better at speaking in front of many people than I previously thought.

However, my thinking on becoming a priest has been on and off, largely because I feel held back by several things and have doubts:

1. I am an engineer – a bioengineer at that – that’s what many in my family have been - engineers and that’s what I was meant to be.
  2. It would be a waste of four or more years to study bioengineering since that’s not something I’d ever need as a priest.