Consummation of sacramental marriage

For a sacramental marriage to become indissoluble, it must be physically consummated. What if, as I am sure is, today, often the case, the couple is using some form of artificial birth control on their wedding night? Have they truly completed the act?

I’m not a canon lawyer by any stretch of the imagination, but I’d bet that the fact that the couple entered the marriage with the intention of not having children by using artificial birth control would be a valid reason for an annulment.

I think the question revolves more around the issue of contraception at the time the marriage is consummated, and not a question of a permanent intention to not have children.

I thought sacramental marriage was without bc? Really, Catholics are using bc?
Are all or most Catholics using bc, …if so then what about confessing it all the time,…
will the priest refuse to absolve this after a time, or right away?

It’s confusing…as a P I actually can see clearly the behind the scenes reasoning and info about not using bc. I actually think it is right,…and more than likely coming from God.
A Catholic man explained it to me, the reasoning behind it, just once using this illustration

• and I really got it, and with conviction too.

He explained it like a tree from the garden of Eden,…the couple are the tree, as in family
tree. The children are the fruit on the branches. Fruit of the womb.

On one side you could see it as very very strict, however,…I don’t think it is this.

It seems more like genius, from our God who is Genius.

On the other side of the question is the couple who may not have a lot of wisdom yet or skill in managing calculating, etc. and may have more children than they can handle.
(However I know Prot. families that are very large, the mother manages and the older children help her with the household duties) 13 children last count, they are committed Christians and do not use bc on purpose.