Contemplating a patron saint

I start RCIA this Sunday. I know it’s early, but I’ve been contemplating a patron saint and wanted some opinions about who I’m leaning toward.

First, about me. I’m 34, have been married 15 years (first and only marriage), and we have 4 children together. We are currently Protestant (non-denominational, gave my life to Christ 16 years ago) and I am the only one entering the Church at this time. I am a Registered Nurse. I have an interest in just about everything. I tell people that I am good at everything but a master at nothing. My hobbies include computers (I build them occasionally), theology, history (preference to military, ancient, and church history), science (mostly astronomy and cosmology), astrophotography, gaming, and more. I’m involved in Karate and bowling.

I have a Bachelors in Social Work, but couldn’t make a decent living so afterward I pursued an Associate’s in Nursing. I am not particularly passionate about Nursing, I just like it and I like my job. I am good at it and I am compassionate. I am currently pursuing a Master of Healthcare Administration to help me move up in the company I work for (I’m the supervisor over the cardiac team for a company that does insurance preauthorizations for health plans, I work from home).

With all that being said, and keep in mind my middle name is Albert, I keep finding myself gravitating toward Saint Albert the Great. It seems like he had a love of a very wide variety of subjects and was the teacher of St Thomas Aquinas, whose works I greatly enjoy. What are everyone’s thoughts on this?

2 Likes

Why don’t you try this website. It generates a random patron saint for you. The results amazed me more than once.
https://saintsnamegenerator.com/

Often if you “find yourself gravitating” towards a saint then they have already picked you :slight_smile: