Continuing Education

I have recently gotten a desire to continue my education. I have 7 children, the youngest of whom 8, and I’ve been thinking for a while that it’s time to think about what God is calling me to next. It’s only in the last week that I’ve began to contemplate graduate school.

I have an elementary teaching degree but haven’t really worked in the schools. I subbed for a while, 15 yrs. ago, but have been home, homeschooling and raising my children, working various odd jobs that didn’t take me from home too much. For the last 6 years, I’ve been driving school bus.

What got me started thinking about school was an email ad from the Avila Institute for the Graduate program in Theology. I know I would love this. I listen to a LOT of Catholic radio. It’s all I ever have on in my car - and I spend a lot of time in my car! I’ve done that for years now and, honestly, your average retreat talk or blog articles, rarely hold any new information for me. I find, if I listen to Bishop Baron, I sometimes get a fresh perspective on something, but, you know, he’s a genius. lol

My question is, does it make sense for a Catholic lay person like me to pursue a Masters in Theology? Is there something else that would make more sense? Also, if anyone has recommendations for online programs, that would be great.

Thanks!

Jen

It makes sense if you have money to burn and no intentions of earning a living from it.
**It’s beyond rewarding, spiritually. It’s wonderful. **
But MANY of my friends who got their Masters are still working at Fabric stores, tutoring secular subjects, or simply volunteering as catechists.
My one friend ended up defaulting on her student loans…payments were bigger than her house payment, and she had a $250,000 home. Foreclosed on the house. She thought FOR SURE she would be in demand at a parish or at the Chancery even! All she ever got offered was a request to be a volunteer Spiritual Director at a retreat center.