Controversial School Book

Good Evening All,

This is my first post on CA and I am reaching out to this online community to ask for advice concerning a moral dilemma that involves my job.

I am a teacher at a local high school in Connecticut. Last year, the school began distributing a book to the students, faculty, and staff to read over the summer. This program is called “One Book One (name of high school)” and the theme of the book sets the tone for the following year where teachers are required to conduct conversations and activities with their students.

Tomorrow is the “big reveal” of the book to the students. I was given a sneak peak at this year’s book which is called “Every Day” by David Levithan. For a detailed description of the book, please visit amazon.com and look it up. In a nutshell, the story has to do with “gender identity theory” and I am feeling deeply conflicted with it’s underlying message. I am also concerned about my job requiring me to use this book as a tool for discussion with my students and condone this ideology.

I am afraid that if I refuse to participate in the school-wide activities and discussions that I may face disciplinary measures. I cannot, in good conscience, condone this and spread untruths to my students. Just looking for some advice and if anyone has ever experienced anything similar to this. Should I morally object to this or just submit to the powers that be? Thank you all in advance! :confused:

Pray for me! [BIBLEDRB][/BIBLEDRB]

Hi, Hans!

…I am often bemused by some of the anti-Catholic propaganda that attempts to erase Christ from the Church with such claims as “Constantine” and “Church apostasy.” They may be fully ignorant of the actual persecution of the Church where Bishops and others suffered tremendously… some losing life, limbs, and even their eyes… never giving up JESUS!