Converting and marriage

Hi guys
i am waiting for some answers from a friend but thought maybe i might get some here
i want to convert to become catholic
the issue is i am married to a non beliver he is atheist/humanist our wedding was a civil service
will this prevent me converting
he is baptised but will not enter a church to have a service and i would not push him to
I am in the UK by the way
many thanks
FTN
:confused:

I’m no canon lawyer, but I know a civil wedding is not considered a Sacramental marriage in the eyes of the Church. I would talk with a priest about how to proceed, but I believe you will have to get properly married in a Church, and with that you may need a dispensation from the bishop since you are marrying a non-Catholic. Not only that, but your spouse would have to agree to raise any children you have Catholic.

Until you are married sacramentally, you and your spouse would have to remain celibate since you are not considered married in the eyes of the Church. This is a very difficult situation, and I hope that you can find a good priest to walk you through the steps you need to come into the Church. I will keep you in my prayers. :crossrc:

hi
thanks for your reply
i think you have misread the post I have been married for 11 years and our wedding was a civil service i was anglican at the time i want to be catholic and want to know if this prevents me

My understanding is, if neither of you were baptised or confirmed Catholic, you should have a valid marriage. Civil services are I think valid so long as both of you were free to marry and neither party was considered Catholic at the time of marriage. Now there may be issues if either of you were divorced beforehand.