Could I become a health teacher without sinning?

I’m currently a special education teacher. This coming school year will be my third year teaching in public school. I was formerly a health educator for adults and still have a passion for healthy living.

At times, I want to go back to school and get my general education license to teach health and physical education.  I wonder about some of the moral implications, not so much for physical education, but for health.  For example, what about teaching about contraception?  Would it be a sin if I was merely giving facts, not necessarily promoting it?  I do believe in the Church's teaching on the matter.  I don't know the entire health curriculum in our state, but I'm sure there would be other morally questionable topics that come up (there is, after all, an opt-out option for students on some portions of the class).  Where does the line lie between giving facts about a topic, and actually committing a sin of some kind when discussing said topic?  

I'm much more interested in teaching the basics about health.  I see such a problem with the state of our nation's health and it often begins as problems in childhood.  The childhood obesity epidemic in this country is disturbing, to say the least.  However, I know those other topics will inevitably come up, and while I would love to get kids to a healthier state, I don't want to sin while doing it.  

Thanks for your help! :blessyou:

No, you cannot teach contraception, abortion, etc.

Before pursuing, I suggest you contact the National Catholic Bioethics and one of the law firms familiar with 1st Ammendment issues-- Thomas More Law Center for example. Ask these questions and know your rights before moving in that direction.