Counteracting these "Arguments" Against Christianity

*Please redirect me if I am in the wrong forum.

Hello all. I came across these two images while I was on the internet. Normally, I would not bring such things to attention on a Catholic Answers Forum, but lets just say I am stumped on how to counteract these “arguments” against Christianity.

The first one seems to imply that the Bible as we know it is completely wrong.

i.imgur.com/5koIA.gif

The second one implies that Christmas is “just another barbaric product of the evil that is Christendom.”

bearebel.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/1460126_564585350289432_1632100447_n.jpg

I want to be able to argue against these claims, but I am not an expert on Church history, the Bible, and such. I would appreciate any help. Please cite your sources. I thank you all in advance.

you can google ‘where did we get the catholic bible’, and you’ll get a lot of information. but i’m not sure how you’re going to argue with a link like that?

lol at the first one. just lol

There are manuscripts of the bible are from around the second/ third century. (Now, I don’t know how reliable the KJV is, I read the Douay-Rheims version.)

Also, who in the world would call Christmas barbaric? :confused:

if i said, ‘there are hundreds of biographies of abraham lincoln, but no two are exactly alike’, would that make the wrong? would that mean that lincoln never lived?

The Christian celebration of Christmas has a basis in the Jewish Festival of Lights - Hanukkah - as documented in the Bible. The Festival of Lights is the celebration of the dedication of the Temple after it was rebuild by Judas Macabbeus. Jesus is the new temple built without human hands.

***So they celebrated the dedication of the altar for eight days, and offered burnt offerings with gladness; they offered a sacrifice of deliverance and praise. **(1 Maccabees 4:56)