Cousin believes he is a strong Catholic yet

I just had a rather heated discussion with my cousin yesterday. We were discussing the Catholic Church. He mentioned going to his girlfriends Non-denomenational Christian Church and after the service he told her point blank that the whole service was bonkers (he didn’t say bonkers, but you get the picture) and that he would never convert from the Catholic Church (good for him).

I am a medical student, and he is doing his fellowship. So we are both very well versed in medicine. I usually try to not discuss sexual and fertility issues but we somehow got on the topic when he mentioned that the Church has antiquated ideas about birth control and that people still think that the rhythm method works. I was a bit taken aback. I asked him what he knew about NFP which was very little except to say tentatively that 1 in mucus is fertile. I stated that I have been using Creighton and that I’m not pregnant and it is wonderful. He had no idea what Creighton, Billings or Sympathothermal was. He stated that he has no problem perscribing birth control, performing tubal ligation or vasectomies (didn’t even know that this was against his faith).

We had a long discussion. He is rather pigheaded and so am I, so neither of us would let it go. He gave a scenerio of a devout Catholic 15 yo girl who is pressured to have sex. I stated that a very devout Catholic girl would not be having a boyfriend much less have a sex at 15. I said everyone can make a mistake and God forgives but it doesn’t mean that the Chruch needs to change its teachings about sex just so a 15 year old girl can knock boots with her boyfriend and use birth control with the Church’s approval.