Cracker and grape juice vs. unleaven (leaven) bread and ordinary Wine.

In ancient Christianity, ordinary wine and unleaven bread (and leaven bread in the Eastern Christianity) is always used in Holy Communion. This based on Scripture itself, and Tradition. Since Jews used wine during there Passover, and unleaven bread.

However, in Protestantism (most mainline Protestants, I do believe some Protestants use ordinary wine and leaven bread or unleaven in their communion service) they used cracker and grape juice (non-alcoholic). When did this man-made tradition was first put into use?

From the Welch’s website:

1869 Dr. Thomas Bramwell Welch, a physician and dentist by profession, successfully pasteurizes Concord grape juice to produce an “unfermented sacramental wine” for fellow parishioners at his church in Vineland, N.J., where he is communion steward. His achievement marks the beginning of the processed fruit juice industry.

Ancient Christians could have made grape juice. But they didn’t use it. Come to think of it, I have never heard of people drinking grape juice at supper ever. Has anyone else?

Actually the ancient Christians could not have made grape juice. Prior to the use of pasteurization, it would have naturally started to ferment and turn into wine because of yeast particles getting into it. It was only after Welch’s discovery of how to stop fermentation from occuring that grape juice existed.

I can go in my back yard, grab some grapes (not ripe albeit) and crush them and then drink the juice. Maybe they could not have bottled it but certainly they could have made juice. Do you work for Welch’s? I smell conspiracy.

No, I do not work for Welch’s. I also do not defend the use of grape juice for communion. I have taken biochemistry. We studied fermentation. If you search these fora, you will see posts by persons who make their own wine and can give an even better explanation of why grape juice did not exist prior to the 19th century.