Creative writing and culpability

I may be paranoid (I suffer from scruples), but I have a moral/ethical dilemma.

I used to be a pretty decent creative writer and could work with any genre. Nowadays I have a pretty good plot for a sword/sandals fantasy type novel. And this may just be me overreacting, but even if I kept things moral and clean to a certain degree, what if someone reads my novel and acts on it? By this I mean, imitating a scene or something in real life that could hurt others or damage property.

Am I just being paranoid? I’m really good at writing, but I’m afraid that someone may act out on something. This whole things has me feeling down :frowning:

Relax. As long as you’re not actively writing propaganda intended to stir up people to act violently, you’re doing nothing wrong. If people take things the wrong way or can’t control themselves or understand the lines between fiction and reality, that’s on them.

-ACEGC

I believe this is your scruples speaking. It depends on exactly what you write, but in general no, you are not responsible for someone trying to act it out. Granted, if you write an extremely graphic sex scene that violates most taboos and then have your characters exalt over how great it was for multiple chapters, then you may be encouraging others to those actions. If you research and write out effective ways to summon demons, with all the details in the book, followed by the main character using them and proclaiming them to be great, then you may be encouraging others to follow those steps. However, a murder mystery with a great cover-up followed by a greater detective, the understanding that murder is a serious crime and the murderer is a sinful person does not encourage others to depravity. Generally a book is written that people aspire to be like the heroes and avoid becoming the villains.