Credo chanted in Latin at a vernacular OF Mass?

This morning, I turned on my Sirius radio, and tuned into channel 160, which is EWTN Radio. I’m pretty new to EWTN, so please forgive me if this is a silly question. A vernacular OF Mass was being said, but the Credo was chanted by a male cantor in Latin. I’ve never heard this before at a Mass in the vernacular. I loved it, but is this permitted according to the rubrics? Even at the more traditional parish I go to, where both forms of the Mass are offered, the Credo in the OF is always said by the congrigation in English, unless the OF is being said in Latin, which is extremely rare.

It is certainly permitted to chant the Credo in Latin at any mass in which the Creed is prescribed.

In the OF the congregation would normally join in the Creed, spoken, sung, or chanted; perhaps the cantor was simply leading the congregation and was miked to the extent that you couldn’t hear the congregation?

Just to note, it’s not unusual for members of the congregation, who know the chant, to join in singing the Credo at “High Mass” in the EF either. I do it regularly. :slight_smile:

This was not the case. I could hear background noises before the Credo started, but I didn’t hear anyone else chanting the Credo but the cantor. I also heard the congrigation responding to the priest during the prayers said after the Credo. I thought it extremely odd that only the cantor would chant the Credo.

You can celebrate the OF in a mixture of Latin and the vernacular (and Greek if you recite the Kyrie in Greek). When the Holy Father visited Great Britain earlier this year all (well most anyway) where in a mixture of Latin and English.

I agree with those other posters who said the whole congregation should recite the Creed.

Being a geek myself, despite the fact that you heard background noises before doesn’t necessarily mean that the congregation wasn’t singing, esp. with the responses.