Dawkins takes one on the chin

christianitytoday.com/bc/2007/002/1.21.html

I’m afraid most of the article was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay over my head. But, what I got from what I could understand is that Dawkins doesn’t believe in God because Dawkins doesn’t want to. Well, he’s not alone. And from what I saw in the article, he isn’t any better at explaining why there is no God than most atheists we have right here on this forum.

Perhaps Dawkins ought to stick to biology and leave philsophy and theology to those who have knowledge of them. Any time a person tries to write about something they really know little to nothing about, they come off sounding ignorant and silly. As a writer myself, I know that it’s the first cardinal law that you write about what you know about. Dawkins, like anyone else who tries it, isn’t a good writer when he strays outside his field of expertise, which ought to surprise no one.

plantinga possesses an absolutely formidable philosophical mind, and has the wit and writing ability to go with it; dawkins stands as much chance as going toe-to-toe with him as i do with muhammad ali in his prime.

that’s a good article, and is incisive and devastating. still, i like the one he wrote about dennett’s book better:

veritas-ucsb.org/library/plantinga/Dennett.html

his stuff always makes me laugh. poor atheists.

Many thanks for that link.

This is what happens when the study of philosophy comes upon hard times.

Apparently Dawkins argues against the probability of God’s existence, on the basis that God would have to be nearly infinitely complex, and thus extremely improbable.

In fact, basic philosophy and theology would argue that God cannot be complex in any way at all. Rather, he must be ultimately simple.