Deacon Advice

Hello All,
I feel that after years of prayer that I am being called to serve the church as a Deacon. I am unfortunately just 29 and understand that I have to be 33, which is what the Sacramento Diocese Says...Any advice on what I can do until I able to qualify. I'm actively involved in my church in several ministries. I was a confirmation teacher and just recently serving my church as an EM.

Just some more info I would like, the four years of formation that Deacons go through..Are those taken at an actual college or are they taken from the diocese? Would I have to stop working to go through these classes or to even become a deacon. Any help would be great.

My understanding is that you can start the formation process but you cannot be ordained until the age specified by the diocese.

29 + 4 years of formation = 33 :thumbsup:

-Tim-

[quote="jscofield, post:1, topic:246669"]

Just some more info I would like, the four years of formation that Deacons go through..Are those taken at an actual college or are they taken from the diocese? Would I have to stop working to go through these classes or to even become a deacon. Any help would be great.

[/quote]

How about calling the Vocations office of your Diocese to get the answers for this? Or maybe even their website. It may vary from diocese to diocese.

According to the Code of Canon Law (Can. 1031 §2) a man who is unmarried may be ordained a permanent deacon at the age of 25, if married then he must be 35.

A bishop may make harder rules but he can not normally lessen them.

Thank you all for the insight into this. I appreciate it..and i had a typo in there...I knew it was 35 years old..don't know why I put 33...god bless