Dealing With Irreverence

My background is SSPX/sedevacantist. It has not been easy for me to keep with the Church without backsliding and returning to either one of the two chapels.

This past Sunday, my husband and I witnessed something that disturbed the both of us greatly. Two EMs went up to the tabernacle to get Hosts to bring to the homebound. Neither one genuflected or made any act of reverence. After they opened the tabernacle, they proceeded to talk to one another as one was taking Hosts out of the Ciborium and putting Them in her pyx. The conversation went on for longer than five minutes. One of the EMs was leaning up against the tabernacle and had her elbow rested on the cloth that is kept there (presumably in case any particles fall) like she was at a bar. Finally, they finished their discussion and walked away.

My question is: when people here see things like this, how do you handle it without becoming unduly upset and use something like this to your spiritual advantage?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice. :slight_smile:

I can only take your word that what you saw did happen but it does seem extreme. EMs are just as reverent as the ordained so it makes me wonder if because of your background you are exaggerating or if this could havev a single incident. If you do have legitimate concerns speak to the pastor about them. There certainly is no reason for the behavior you describe. That being said, as far as spirituality is concerned, remember that it’s true we would always show reverence to Christ present in the consecrated elements but reverence is also due towards the Body of Christ present in each one of us. I’m not accusing you of anything, just suggesting you proceed cautiously with this. Christ is present to us in multiple ways.

I will respond to this when I calm down. I came here for help, not to be told that I am exagerrating an incident (which I am not).

And I am very sorry, but there is only one sacramental Real Presence.