Debate: Deacons holding a public office

Dear, all of you!

A few months ago I started a debate-thread about priests holding a political office. It has occured, but since the Blessed Pope John Paul II’s pontificate the Vatican has formally taken a position in which it declares that a priest should occupy himself with his flock and not with state affairs.

In this thread (link) the general opinion followed the Vatican saying it would be wrong and should be more the exception then the rule.

Now, several people of the debate were wondering if deacons could run for and hold a public office. I would like to hear the different opinions on this matter too. So, fire away! :slight_smile:

The 1983 code of Canon Law states that:

Now I'm no Canon Lawyer so I may not be interpreting this correctly but I read Canon 266 as saying that permanent deacons are clerics and therefore would also be covered by canon 285 which forbids them holding public office:

Married Catholic deacons should still provide for their families. But, yes, there are other jobs then public offices.

[quote="Theophorus, post:2, topic:240213"]
The 1983 code of Canon Law states that:

Now I'm no Canon Lawyer so I may not be interpreting this correctly but I read Canon 266 as saying that permanent deacons are clerics and therefore would also be covered by canon 285 which forbids them holding public office:

[/quote]

This is correct. As part of the training on canon law, we were all forwarned about this fact. We had a lawyer who holds a position as an appointed judge in child custody court, he was informed and he understood, as all of us, that the possibility of running for and holding public office af any type was prohibited once ordained into the diaconate.

It's not up for debate, it is not allowed.

I believe all the posters were not aware of Canon 288:

-Can. 288 The prescripts of cann. ⇒ 284, ⇒ 285, §§3 and 4, ⇒ 286, and ⇒ 287, §2 do not bind permanent deacons unless particular law establishes otherwise.