Debates on College Campuses

Frequently on college campuses speakers are invited to debate several topics. For example I saw one awhile back between Christopher Hitchens and a well known Christian Apologist. It was a very good lecture and a lot of students went to see it.
I had a friend whose parents were upset that she attended at the time. The question is, would you be upset/angry/annoyed if your child attended such a debate? Would you view it as your child exploring/seeking out atheism?

As a College Seminary Student myself, it’s always fun to go and attend debates between the Philosophy Professors and other guest speakers.

To answer your question though; I wouldn’t see it as a bad thing. One thing that my pastor told me before entering seminary this year was that I should learn the good philosophies and study the bad ones. Why? Because this will help me see how all of the bad philosophies poke their heads out in society and then I can use the good philosophies to counter and convert.

So, see it as more of a learning experience; seeing how the different views of the world work and understanding why the right views work.

No, I would not be upset. As someone who went through a time of doubt/skepticism, it was absolutely critical to my spiritual growth, and it gave me the ability to empathize with those who hold different views than myself. Also, I am no longer shocked at the statements that militant atheists make, or ashamed at the mockery they throw in the face of believers (a key tactic of the militant atheists, that work). I don’t think it’s necessary for all believers to listen to these debates, but I certainly think it would behoove them.

Debate is a good thing! It gets the mind working! One of the best part of medieval scholasticism is their use of rigorous logic and debate!