Debating with a baptist about john 20:21-23

OK so I am a catholic, he is a baptist. He states that we don’t need to confess to a priest. I quote John 20:21-23 and he comes back with ‘well Thomas was not there therefore the Holy Spirit must not of acted yet. He acts later on with Paul’. I am very very very new to apologetics. Not sure why he would deny what Jesus said when ‘He breathed on them.’ Thank you!

He is completely making it up. Thomas being there or not has nothing to do with the fact that Jesus gave the 12 authority to forgive sins.

But that you may know that the Son of man has authority on earth to forgive sins" – he then said to the paralytic – “Rise, take up your bed and go home.” And he rose and went home. When the crowds saw it, they were afraid, and they glorified God, who had given such authority to men. (Matthew 9:6-8)

God gave authority to men (plural), human beings on earth.

Even so, the Baptist will not believe. I would not engage in apologetics with him. I would demonstrate my faith by the way I live my life.

If peace and joy are demonstrable in your life then he will be attracted to you like a moth to a flame and will ask you how you stay so calm and peaceful while the world rages. Then it is time to talk about Jesus and the sacraments.

-Tim-

Hi, Happy!
Sadly, (in my experience) most non-Catholic Christians will refuse to accept even Scriptures as proof against their particular religiosity.

They may claim Scriptures as their foundation, yet, when Scriptures prove them wrong they will claim improper interpretation (just try giving a Jehovah Witness any tracts or book–they will not even accept a list of Scriptures!) or just plainly refuse to accept that Scriptures state what Scriptures state.

What is truly dumbfounding is their ability to strip Omnipotence and Divinity from God as they argue against Catholic Doctrine.