Debating with protestants who just won't listen

Just some background before I ask my questions:

I was raised an Orthodox Jew, and discovered traditional Catholicism via my Italian grandmother (my mother was a convert to Orthodox Judaism circa 1944). I’ve been a traditional Catholic ever since the age of 18.

After my conversion (which I studied for with a very traditional priest at my local parish, this was 1978), I became deeply emmeshed in Church history, apologetics, hermeneutics, moral theology, and canon law. I began debating protestants, and after a lapse of some years to raise my family, I’ve returned, this time online.

Maybe because I was never a protestant I don’t understand this, but WHY are they so close-minded and harbor such irrational and frankly ridiculous hatred for the true Church? Were they raised that way? The ex Catholics can be just as bad if not worse, and I find often turned against the Church for marriage reasons (divorced, wanted to remarry, Church wouldn’t let them, so they went to a protestant sect that would let them).

One question my son asked me, and I had to admit I did not know the answer: a heretic is a baptized Catholic who has chosen to deny certain central dogmas of the Faith (Luther having been a good example).

But what is someone who was raised in a protestant group, never baptized Catholic, and simply believes as they do because they don’t know any better? What category do they fall into? Heretic? Schismatic?

I remember learning that there are Infidels, Apostates, Schismatics, and Heretics: Infidels are the unbaptized; Apostates are baptized Catholics who ahve entirely given up the Faith; Schismatics are those who deny the Papacy, and Heretics are those who still claim to be Christian (Catholic), yet who0 deny certain key articles of the Faith.

You can’t make someone listen. All you can do is plant seeds and pray.

Christ called us to evangelize. Debate rarely works as an evangelization tool.