*Deep Breath* - I'm thinking of quitting my job

Well, not quit exactly, but… I’m going to give notice of my intention not to renew my contract. I’m a teacher at a private academy.

When I got hired in January of 2007 (for a start date of August last year), I told them I was planning to stay at this school for a few years. Well, it turns out I was wrong. Shortly after signing the contract I met a wonderful man, whom I can only see on Sundays because we live in different cities. Things are getting more serious, and we’re discerning marriage - but we really can’t do that if we only see each other once a week if we’re lucky.

A few months ago, I was certain that quitting this job was the right decision. My salary was lower than average. I live far away from my boyfriend. I shared an office with a woman I couldn’t stand.

Fast forward to now: I got a big raise, and I’m going to be at a higher than average salary (although it didn’t appear in my paycheque this month! :mad:). I got my own office, bigger and better than the one I shared. I still live far away from my boyfriend. My contract ends on August 21st.

I have contacts in private schools in my boyfriend’s town, but I don’t have a job lined up. I’m technically only required to give 30 days notice, but my school takes 4 months to hire, which means that if I’m going to treat them fairly I should tell them now. Schools in his town tend to hire in June or July, when it’ll be too late to change my mind if I don’t get a job there. There’s a teacher shortage there, but I’m still nervous.

My coworkers want me to stay, mostly because they don’t like the idea of getting used to a new person. They are also warning me about moving for a man or giving up my own job for a man. I think it makes much more sense to live close to each other while we’re discerning marriage.