Defending the Immaculate Conception

What should we say when someone claims that it is nonsense or biologically impossible to claim that such a thing can happened especially when it is a non-believer such as an Atheist. This idea of our lady becoming pregnant through the Holy Spirit (that is how i understand it at least).

What should we say to them and also how to convince them it is in fact true?

P.S. this is my first time posting so apologies if I may did something wrong.

It is biologically impossible. If they don’t believe in God then you can’t convince them. Be their friend instead. Love them.

One day they will see the peace and joy in your life and ask you how you do it. That is the time to start talking. Then you can tell them how knowing Jesus has changed your life but convincing an atheist about the immaculate conception is really a waste of time.

-Tim-

FWIW, what you are talking about is not the Immaculate Conception. The Immaculate Conception is the natural biological conception of Mary but without original sin, not the conception of Jesus. Since atheists don’t believe in original sin, they ought to have no problem believing the Immaculate Conception. In fact, they think all of us were conceived that way (without original sin).

There are some things in religion that science can help us understand. Religion says God created the universe; science tells us how that happened (the Big Bang). Unless one takes a strictly literal 7-day interpretation of Genesis, there is no conflict between religion and science here.

But there are other things that are just flat-out miracles that science simply cannot help us understand any better. And the conception of Jesus is one of those things. It’s an unsatisfying answer to an atheist, but not everything has a scientific explanation.

For example, the atheist cannot tell you what CAUSED the Bang. He will never be able to tell you that.