Degree in Theology- Where?! Help?!

I really, really desire to get a degree in theology. I’m studying as best I can on my own (for pleasure, I love learning, and theology and history are my two passions), but I’m to the point I really need “directed” learning, if that makes any sense. I’ve been procrastinating on getting an “official” education for a few years now, and feel a constant push to finally act upon this.

An internet search for a degree in theology (or any other degree) will bring up a list of universities, most of which the degree isn’t worth the paper it’s printed on. (at least in my opinion). My husband is in the military, so we move every two-three years. Are there any online universities at all that provide a valuable degree in theology?

Thanks for any help!
Jennie

Welcome to CAF, Jennie.

I don’t know if they have distance learning programs, but a few schools to investigate would be Catholic University of America, University of Dallas, and Franciscan University, Steubenville, OH.

I've heard the U of Dallas has a good distance ed degree in theology, but I can't claim to have any first hand knowledge of it.

Welcome to CAF, Jennie! :wave:

National Catholic Register regularly publishes their Catholic Identity College Guide. It's a good place to start to get an idea of which Catholic universities take their Catholic identity the most seriously. This doesn't mean that any college not on the list is utterly depraved. But you definitely want to do your research.

A few questions you need to ask yourself:

First, why do you want a degree? Is it just for personal edification or do you want to pursue working for the Church as your full-time means of employment? Depending upon your goal, you may be content to simply audit some distance learning courses rather than pursue a degree.