Deleted thread. thank you!

deleted. Thanks for all who were helpful, you may continue responding but i have been very helped by the answers and will not need to read further. God bless

Sure! He can accompany her with one or both parents for an all day outing. :grinning:

If he is the birthday gift then they’re definitely not just:

I would tell her she is welcome to invite him out to a birthday dinner with the family.

I’m not sure I would have said he was no longer welcome in your home- it seems odd to tell him he can’t come over, but then drop them off somewhere alone and unsupervised. If the boy apologized and seems like a nice enough kid, banning him from your home is going to encourage them to sneak around more.

Yes, my husband and I may join but he really doesn’t want to see him. He would only do it to make her happy on her day

Yes I understand, he is a nice enough kid, i was traumatized when i saw them (they say teen years are tough and this is my first time dealing with teenagers)

You mean, in the house when they were supposed to be at school?

It behooves parents to be intrusive into these kinds of relationships, so that teens don’t end up becoming parents before graduating high school. Some think that chaperoning is old fashioned, but this is how young people need to be protected.

Getting to know your teens’ friends, spending MORE time with them and making yourself part of their lives and choices is appropriate, even when your inner self wants to avoid it. Bottom line, teens are old enough to make their own choices, and not all of them are to their benefit. You cannot, by disapproval, stop your daughter from being involved with this boy, but you can make yourself very present.