Dementia and consent for sex

Not sure if this goes here, or in the family life forum, but I’m a nurse, and here’s the question.

Situation–aging married couple, one has dementia, one does not–are there any Church teachings (or private opinions) on the appropriateness of continuing sexual relations when consent is clearly dubious?

This is probably more of a woman’s issue because if the man isn’t interested, suffering from dementia or not, the act simply isn’t going to happen.

We had a nursin home patient whose husband would take her out, and they would have sex (she would indicate this to us by gestures after she came back–she was very aphasic). It was clearly painful for her. OTOH, she was always happy to see him, and never cried or shrank away when he visited or showed any fear.

Yes, our social worker got involved but the state laws are extremely vague about this. Both spouses are dead now, but this situation does happen occasionally.

When my mother suffered for eight years with Alzheimer’s, my father would lovingly lie on their bed beside her, hold her hand, kiss her so very gently, caress her arm, leg, shoulder.

She was already in her mid 70s, he in his early 80s, and I don’t think either was thinking about actual intercourse, but I don’t think my mother would have minded his attentions at all. He, on the other hand, would sometimes weep later, because he missed HER, who she had been, the woman he’d loved for half a century or more.

It is the cruelest of diseases.

There was a huge thread about this a couple of months ago. Try the search function.

Found it:
forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=956067&highlight=sex+dementia

Unless you are in Louisiana, I’m not sure how your state laws could have been vague, as the elements for consent are a common-law principle, not statutory (meaning prescribed by legislation). Where one party has dementia, they lack the capacity to give consent - consent is not dubious, it is absent.