Desperate: abnormal pap smear

I had an abnormal result for my pap smear from last month. It says I have mild dysplasia and was referred to get a coloscopy.

At the same time, it seems that I also have fibrocystic breast disease and I’m constantly in pain. I say it seems that I have it because my appointment for my mammogram is until in 2 weeks. I really hope it’s not something worst.

Anyway, since I had all those news at my doctor’s office, I have not been able to function. I can’t concentrate at work, I cry a lot, I cannot enjoy my family and worst of all, I don’t know how to plan ahead. I’m a contractor at a school. I can get as much or as little work as I want during the school year. I had planned to take all the work I could handle this coming school year because my husband will be doing his non-paid student teaching for three months this same school year.

Now, I don’t know if I will be able to functon at work, or even worst, what if I have to go through a series of procedures and treatments and I’m not able to work. Besides, I have no insurance and no job benefits because I’m self-employed.

I’m desperate. I feel in the middle of nowhere in my life. Please help!

Prayers for you. :crossrc:

I had an abnormal pap smear test some years back - the treatment was a very simple same-day procedure (under general anaesthetic though) and no problems since. I don’t imagine yours would be any worse, and it shouldn’t require more than a day off work. You might not even need that much done.

I’m not sure about the breast problem. Has your doctor suggested that it could be something worse? If not, then it’s highly unlikely. Try your hardest not to assume the worst, just wait for the results.