Despondent --- Ex in a new relationship, need advice

Hello,

I would be grateful for some advice / spiritual direction.

I'm a single woman in her mid-thirties. I've been praying and searching for a partner for fifteen years. I have wonderful friends and have tried to live patiently as a single person. I took to heart the advice that you cannot pin all your happiness on one person, and filled my life with spiritual and creative pursuits. I tried my best to trust God and rely on his plan for me---though as I hit my late twenties, then early thirties, with no romantic success it became harder and harder. In 2010, I finally started dating someone. I was cautious at first, as I didn't want to get my heart broken, but for eight months things went well and I fell in love with this man. He never pressured me to do anything against my faith.

Because I'd been so careful not to expect a relationship to give me all my happiness, I was unprepared for how wonderful it actually felt. It wasn't perfect, but for a while and until it ended it was the happiest time I had ever experienced in my adult life. I had hoped that things would continue to go well, and that the relationship would lead to marriage.

Unfortunately, that didn't happen. My ex broke it off last March. I was shattered but respected his decision. He is now in a happy new relationship, and despite copious prayer and struggles to heal and overcome the disappointment I am still deeply despondent and brokenhearted. My friends have been generous and supportive, but I miss my ex so much that many nights I come home from work and go straight to bed without eating just to avoid the pain of eating dinner alone. My birthday is in a couple of days, and I am acutely conscious that the chance of having children lessens every day.