DH doesn't feel like enough of a provider

:frowning: I have a professional degree that, were I working, would allow me to easily earn a salary in the low- to mid-six figures. DH has a job that provides an adequate, but far less lucrative, five-figure salary.

Once we had children, we jointly made the decision for me to stay home and we are now homeschooling our four (soon to be five) kids. We both love this situation for its emotional and spiritual benefits and I am very happy at home (I do work occasionally, about once per week).

However… DH often has “bouts” (for lack of a better word) where he feels inadequate as a provider: we make enough to have a decent house and functioning autos and to put food on the table, but not much for extras. We don’t go out to eat much, our vacations are camping trips, and I can’t begin to think of how we’ll pay for college. Knowing I could be earning a far higher salary makes him feel more unworthy, in a way, especially when we get together with my former colleagues and classmates, many of whom have fancy cars/executive homes and the like.

How can I help him with these feelings of inadequacy? I build him up in every way I can think of and I never make money, or lack thereof, an issue.

do you two pray together? you can have your children get scholarships and grants for college and help them out as much as you can financially. i suggest praying together as a family #1 on the list of all this doubt the devils is filling your husbands head with. best of luck & God be with your family.

I should clarify: this is not primarily about material envy. DH is not very into “things” or toys or any of that. It’s more about providing for things like college, retirement savings, and piano lessons, summer pool passes, etc. for the kids.