Did Jews ever have a 'sola scriptura' theology

Sometimes some Protestants try to defend their pillars of faith, mainly Sola Scriptura by saying that Jews have always done that. How true is that? I’m pretty sure it’s a crock, but some get emotional about it. This is especially a kind of thing that many Messianics I’ve talked to defend, thought I’m sure it’s not mainstream in their theology.

Thoughts?

In Pax Christi
Andrew

I’m no expert, but all those prophets and revelations made ancient Judaism a fluid, changing faith. Sola Scriptura can only be plausible (even if still false) in a faith where the revelation has ceased. So it seems that in the period leading up to the coming of the Messiah, Judaism was the furthest thing from sola Scriptura possible.

I thought the same thing, considering the fact they didn’t even have a solid canon until after Christ’s ascension.

In Pax Christi
Andrew

Note that the Saducees used Deuteronomy 4:2

You shall not add to the word which I command you, nor take from it; that you may keep the commandments of the LORD your God which I command you.

as the reason to use only the first five books as Scripture. I think they rejected all development from that.

This seems to parallel those who use Revelation 22:18-19

I warn every one who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if any one adds to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book,

19] and if any one takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book.

to reject Tradition.

Hello,

I am not a jew, but yes i believe the ‘’ Karaite ‘’ Jews believe in the Torah alone without the Talmud .

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karaite

Best regards

Meedo