Did Mary remain a virgin?

I went to a protestant church (my bf’s church) and was surprised to hear the pastor say that Mary did not remain a virgin, that she and Joseph had many children after Jesus… This is something I have never heard before.
He mentioned it in scripture (but I forgot what it was).

So what I want to know is how to defend her being the Blessed Virgin Mary and to know what verse in the bible he used to come to that conclusion.

Thanks in advance for the replies! <3

For background : (I grew up catholic but never lived out my faith, as my parents didn’t really take us to church or teach us anything about it. I have very little knowledge of the catholic faith, but I am getting back into my faith.)

1 Like

This is false information.

If Mary had other children, even if she had all girls, then Jesus would NOT have been allowed to “give” his mother to the care of John. It would of been a totally “illicit” and wrong thing to do.

In fact, if Joseph had children (as some people speculate) they would of had obligations to care for her over any words of Jesus.

The whole thing where Jesus uses the words “brother” is an extremely poor translation from Hebrew and has little bearing on what we think of as a brother today.

9 Likes

I’ve heard somewhere that the word for brother could also mean cousin/relative too

3 Likes

Yeah no, wrong interpretation on his part.

Yeah, from what I read from them, Protestants think that Jesus had brothers and therefore Mary was not perpertual virgin.

The verses they use are like, MT 12:47 “Behold, Your mother and Your brothers are standing outside, seeking to speak to You.” and Gal 1:19 … James “the brother of the Lord”.

These have been debunked. They were not the Lord’s brothers but of course the Protestants would have none of that.