Did people really have to pay to have their sins forgiven?

In the medieval world was it widespread that people had to pay to go to Church or pay to go to confession?

In Christ,

JD

I was still somewhat young back then but it is my understanding that SOME within the Church collected payment for indulgences. I have never heard of anyone being charged fees to attend Mass or Confession, though admittedly, I am no professor of Church history.

Sure, if you read strident protestant historian accounts!

Truth tends to be subtle. Officially, no one would ever need to pay to go to confession. That would be simony which has always been condemned.

The trouble came when a seemingly innocent practice began. Someone in the church decided that sacrificial giving was an act that has a genuine spiritual impact on the soul. This idea was followed up on by offering an indulgence (look it up in the catechism) for those who gave heroic gifts. Then as always, there were a fair number of unscrupulous and self-serving men in the clergy. It wouldn’t have taken long for them to see the opportunities to exploit this idea.

Abuses of indulgences are one of the things that sent Martin Luther on his path. The reforms of Trent banned the connection of indulgences with monetary donation partially in response to his criticisms.

First of all, let’s clarify what happened. St. Peter’s Basilica needed to be constructed, and the church had little funding after the near collapse of Western civilization due to the Black Death. The Pope’s wish was to construct a building in which confidence in religion and the Papacy would be restored.