Did satan tempt Adam and Eve?

In genesis, a serpent goes up to Eve and tells her to eat something that God explicitly told her not to eat. She then told Adam to do the same. They both got banished from Eden because of this.

Was the serpent who tempted Eve just a regular serpent, or was it Satan posing as a serpent?

Yes, based on my understanding of the general understanding of the Church, the “ancient serpent” is the devil and Satan.

I’m no expert but wasn’t the serpent(satan), being a fallen angel, much more intelligent than Adam and Eve? Shouldn’t God have given Adam and Eve a heads up about this character? Better yet, why was the serpent in the garden in the first place? Why didn’t God banish him like he did later with Adam and Eve?

Good questions, most of which are mysteries that have not been fully revealed. You are right that as a fallen angel, Satan is still generally more intelligent than most, including our Adam and Eve. God only gave the warning not to eat of the tree in the middle of the garden. How the serpent was in the garden, I do not know either. I remember thinking, “if it wasn’t for Adam and Eve messing up, we would still be in Paradise!” The real mystery that has not been fully revealed is why God allowed all of this, and pain in general. However, with Christ as the “new Adam”, we have hope of returning to Paradise again.

From the Catechism:

CCC 397 Man, tempted by the devil, let his trust in his Creator die in his heart and, abusing his freedom, disobeyed God’s command. This is what man’s first sin consisted of. [278] All subsequent sin would be disobedience toward God and lack of trust in his goodness.

[278] Cf. Gen 3:1-11; Rom 5:19.

Yes, Satan tempted Adam and Eve.