Dinner Party: Is Pea Soup with Lasagna OK?

Hey y’all! I am a poor college student making dinner for myself and 5 friends for tomorrow. I’ve already made lasagna, but we’ve already eaten a little of it, so I wanted to make sure to have appetizers too. So I bought stuff for Caesar salad. I was also planning on making split pea soup, since my mom gave me a hambone. If you were me, would you serve split pea soup before lasagna, or would that be too badly matched? (If it is, I can marinate some vegetables and save the pea soup for later.)

Make the pea soup for later, and marinate some veggies. HOWEVER, if you end up eating the whole lasagna, make the pea soup, and serve it with some crusty bread and lots of butter.

Remembering my college years, any edible food was acceptable and highly appreciated. and, for me, pea soup goes with anything!

College students I know would eat soup made out of old socks. Lasagna, Caesar salad, and a good loaf of bread sounds great. The pea soup would be dandy along with it.

You could go on line and look up recipes for more broth-based soups made with a ham bone if you think the pea soup is too assertive for the rest of your menu.

You could go on line and look up recipes for more broth-based soups made with a ham bone if you think the pea soup is too assertive for the rest of your menu.

Oh whoops! too late. P’raps I’ll taste it and see how heavy it is. I think if there were only a few of us, I wouldn’t do it, but I want to make sure to have lots of food, since I haven’t had this many over in a while, and they’re easy-going but at the same time I want it to be the more formal edge of college dinners, where I don’t have to ask them to jump up and help with stuff, or root through the pantry for something to make dinner look bigger.

What do you fancy in the way of light desserts? I was thinking maybe I would just buy some fruit tomorrow and make coffee.