Disabled veteran seeks healthcare job

Hi,

I am about to retire from the military and will be seeking a new job. I have a bachelor's degree, and am thinking about a job in healthcare. The trick is, I am disabled - I walk with a cane and can only do so much on my feet.

I am a caring, somewhat sensitive individual who works well with people one on one. I wanted to be a nurse, but since my accident, I don't think I can due to the physical work involved.

Any suggestions? I am open to going to school to retrain. The Veteran's Administration is paying.

Hmmmm, I have to say this is a tricky one. I've only ever have worked in healthcare and honestly every single job I've ever held has involved long hours on my feet with lots of lifting, which is probably why my back is already shot at the age of 26. :shrug:

If you get a job as a nurse at a doctor's office, I bet it involves less walking and physcial requirements then at the hospital. Pretty much all hospital jobs that involve lots of patient contact will involve lots of walking. I have a friend at work that works as the secretary at the nurse's station because he used to be a contractor but blew his knees out so can't walk for long either. He wanted to work in healthcare so it was a good fit for him, but I have to say it doesn't involve much patient contact. It's mostly answering the phones, coordinating lots of the "behind the scenes" stuff at the nurse's station, no real patient contact.

Phlebotomy at an outpatient lab doesn't involve a whole lot of walking and does have patient contact, but this job doesn't pay nearly as well as being a nurse.

sorry I can't think of more, maybe someone else without a preggo brain can think of something I'm not thinking of? :p