Disappointing my father

Hello, I’m in a little bit of a dilema, and I was seeking some advice. You see, I currently live with my father and step mother. I moved back home about five months ago when a chronic illness I have caused me to lose my job in rural PA. I am currently a college student, working part time, hoping to become a Lisenced Practical Nurse (LPN). My father is thrilled to have me living with him, since my parents were divorced when I was a toddler. My mother allowed little if no contact with him, and he was too poor to fight it. Now that I’m back in his life, he is afraid of losing me. To add to it, his health is terrible, and I don’t know how long I’ll have with him. (He’s not terminally ill, but he does suffer from an enlarged heart, diabetis, asthma, and COPD). We live in a suburb of Dallas, and the city life is not suited to me at all. I feel like a fish that has been pulled out of the water. Anyway, it is my dream to work in a rural area, far, far north of here, where there’s mountains and snow. It is a big dream of mine, but I don’t know if it’s selfish or even immoral to leave my father. I am caught between not wanting to disappoint him by moving away after I graduate, and following my heart. What do I do? Thank you for any advice!:shrug:

Find a nice card - one of those “Thanks Dad” types - and write this in it:

Anyway, it is my dream to work in a rural area, far, far north of here, where there’s mountains and snow. It is a big dream of mine, but I don’t know if it’s selfish or even immoral to leave my father. I am caught between not wanting to disappoint him by moving away after I graduate, and following my heart. What do I do?

and in the next few weeks when the moment’s appropriate (like when you two are talking about “stuff”), give it to him.

No father is going to deny a child their dreams, or doesn’t want them to succeed to a higher level than they have achieved.