Discaliced Carmelite Charisim

Hi,
I'm new to the forums, and am wondering if anyone could give me more information about the charisim of the discaliced carmelites. I am being called to join a discaliced carmelite monastery (God willing) and have gone to visit them three times now and will be going again to visit next Saturday. At this visit I will hopefully be making arrangements for an extended stay sometime this summer, but I would like to know more about their charisim before then.

Right now I am reading St. Teresa of Avila's autobiography and wow!, God is speaking so much to me through her that it's unbelievable. He knows exactly what I need to read and when. I know from my reading and the research that I've done on-line that they focus on mental prayer, but I'm not completely sure what that is. My spiritual director has told me that when I have more time this summer (I'm a teacher) he'll begin teaching me about mental prayer during our visits and have me do it for 15 minutes to start out with. I would like to have a better idea of what mental prayer is before then so any info you could share would be great, Thanks!

Also, is there anyone else out there being called to carmel? I'd like to hear from you and share about how God called you to carmel.

Thanks again:)

vent801- First off welcome to CAF. :)

I also have a great love for the Discalced Carmelites as well. I am discerning with Carmel of St. Joseph in Armstrong, B.C.

carmelspall.org

Here is a thread I started a year ago titled " A calling of Love" that basically explains my call to Carmelite.

forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=308955

I have some information on Carmelites throughout my threads so you are more than welcomed to browse around. I think there are people on CAF that are really helpful.

If you have any questions or comments why not ask your Carmelite Sisters?

I will Pray for you.

God bless you on your journey,
goforgoal