Discerning A Life Change

Dear CAF Family,

Prayers are graciously accepted. I am currently discerning a desire to study and receive a Master’s in Theology. I am discerning if it is just a desire, or a vocation. My state in life currently is as a Wife and Mother of 2 (primary vocation) and I have 15 years experience teaching all levels of music in the public schools, where I currently am employed, (thank you Lord!). I hold a B. Music and a Masters in the Art of Teaching. I have a deep desire to study and learn more about our faith and share that with others.

Becoming a mother has reconverted me to an Orthodox Catholic life in ways I never would have imagined. After working in Public School for so long, and seeing the effects, first hand, of our current culture, and after becoming a Mother, I have a strong zeal to work towards protecting our future generations from their souls being caught up in this culture of death. I was blessed to work as a volunteer in our parish teaching RE to first grade and LOVED it. That truly was an anointed work, a true vocation! The proof being in the blessings that already Our Lord has worked through that experience not only for myself but also my family.

If this desire has been placed on my heart by Our Lord, please pray for me to have the wisdom to know how to respond, when, and to have the courage to go forward with this step and also the wisdom to know if this is just a selfish desire to further my own passion for my own sake.

Most Graciously,

Your Sister in Christ

MDomashinski

Have you discussed any of this with your husband? If he approves, I would run the desire off and make it return. Or, tell the Lord that you're going to live the life you've got right now, and if HE wants the change, HE will have to bring it about. That's usually the best way to deal with desires that may bring about more changes than you imagined.

HTH

Blessings,
Cloisters