Discerning a Vocation to the Priesthood

Hello Everyone. I am a sophomore in high school and I am at a very confusing point in my life. I really want to become a priest. I feel God calling me in a variety of ways, yet I cannot seem to accept that he is calling me. I change my mind constantly about this and I know he is calling me, but how do I commit myself to him, so I don’t keep changing my mind? Thanks.

I’m a junior in high school, and I am also discerning the priesthood. My advice for you would be to talk to your local vocations director and close friends. We can’t help you without really knowing you very well.

I think its important to remember you are young and have at least 2 years until you are finished H.S. to discern, so take your time and don’t worry. That’s plenty of time to pray and discern.

Also, no matter what you are called too, all Catholics, regardless of their vocation, are called to grow in holiness. Its sort of a vocation within a vocation. Whether you’re called to priesthood or marriage etc, God wants you to grow closer to Him, grow in holiness, and grow in faith,hope, and love.

So, you can commit yourself to God, and still be unsure of what your vocation is. That’s totally OK. And remember, discernment is difficult and a big deal, so take your time, and pray everyday to discern Gods will for you.

Being you find priesthood attractive, very well could be a sign that you are called to become a priest. Being a priest is awesome and an incredible calling. Each calling is different, but most priests describe their calling as a sort of desire within, or interior fire, something almost unexplainable, that is drawing them to priesthood - and this was the case for me.

I believe the Lord is calling me to priesthood and I plan on going to the seminary this fall. Something that really helped me was reading a book called, “To Save a Thousand Souls.” Its a book about discerning whether or not the reader is called to diocesan priesthood.