Discerning again, but don't know how things will work out

I posted [thread=353938]last week[/thread] talking about the retreat I was going to, that I was quite nervous about.

Well, I did since attend that retreat, and have come back, and am so glad that I went.

I think I mentioned that I felt like many things were shifting in my life. My priorities were shifting and I felt like God was slowly shaping my life. I also felt like the retreat would play a key role in all of that. I still feel that I am right about that.

Last November/December, I was posting around CAF saying that I felt called to the priesthood. I threw myself completely into studying the Bible and the Church’s teachings, and absolutely loved it.

But I ended up suppressing it, thinking I should give music another chance. I’m also a pianist, and I thought that I should try to develop that gift as much as possible through the classical training I received in the music school.

Well it didn’t really work out. I tried to throw myself into music, since the music major, especially for performance, is a very hectic major requiring one’s full attention and dedication. My prayer life suffered as a consequence, and predictably, I gradually stopped going to mass.

Things started building up on me, because I was unable to put into music what the music performance major required. I eventually withdrew from the university, planning to transfer somewhere else, but just needing to recover from that whole situation.

It took me a while to once again approach my relationship with God and reignite my faith. Well I guess not all that long; it was about a month or so after leaving the university. I gradually found that same fire that I felt within me last year.