Discerning Employment

Hello all, this doesn’t necessarily fit in the family life forum, but I wasn’t sure where else to put it.

I am a recent college grad searching for employment. Last week I had a very promising interview with a large company (top 5 of the fortune 500), and they want to fly me to their corporate headquarters for a second interview. The problem is, this company is NOT a good corporate citizen. In the past they have been responsible for terrible environmental tragedies. Additionally, this summer I completed an internship with their largest competitor. During this time I heard stories of additional unethical practices and unsafe workplace conditions.

Here is the problem, do I accept a job with this company out of desperation due to the current economic climate? I mean, I have 25k in student loans to pay off! Also, my degree is in occupational health and safety, so I could make a small difference…

This is just such a terrible time to graduate, there aren’t many jobs available right now.

Thanks for some friendly advice.

That’s a tough one. Personally, I’d still go, if it’s your only option. Even though the company as a whole may engage in unethical practices, you don’t have to partake in it. I know it’s easier said than done, but you’ll be in a better position to judge once you’re there. If you don’t like it, you can always go work for another company, when the economy improves. Anyway, just my $0.02.

Do you feel I would be “selling my soul” in a way if I accepted this job over one that pays less/ does not pay for continuing education/ has less opportunity? I’m talking nearly double the salary of a smaller company.

When you go to the interview, remember that you are interviewing them to see they meet your expectations. Stories on the company grapevine may not be accurate. Research and check out their safety record. Ask question about their history during the interview. Keep all options open during these times… Best of luck on the job hunt.