Discerning God's will for a late-life career choice

I’m 54 (okay, okay, I’m only a few months away from 55), and I would greatly appreciate your advice about how to determine God’s will regarding a late-life career change.

I’m trying to decide between an engineering degree (the “fun” degree which my “heart” is pushing me towards ) and an accounting degree (probably the more practical choice, which my “reason” is pushing me towards). The following info plays into my decision:

1. I have an A.A.S. degree in Electronics Technology (obtained 30 years ago), and an A.A. in general studies/business (which I worked towards as time permitted, over a 20 year period).

2. I am currently a sleep tech, and am capable of taking two classes per semester.

3. Several years ago, the local community college began offering bachelor’s degree programs, in which University professors would travel to Waco to teach. At the time I started, there were several programs offered, but sadly, NOT ENGINEERING OR SCIENCE. I considered a general business degree or accounting, and chose accounting.

4. At my 2 class/semester pace, I am 3-1/2 years away from finishing my accounting degree.

5. NOW, however, an engineering physics degree IS offered. I don’t know how long it would take me to finish that degree, but I’m guessing 5 years.

6. Waco has job opportunities in the aviation engineering field, including L-3 and SpaceEx, however, I don’t know who would hire someone 60 years old.

7. The accounting degree would likely open the door to many more jobs, since accountants are needed by so many businesses.

8. I expect to be working until age 75, due to financial reasons.

9. I really enjoy science, and after the last tax accounting class (BORING!!!), I really began to wonder if I want to spend the last years of my life doing accounting.