Discerning: marriage before career or career before marriage (female perspective)?

This is something that's been on my mind lately. For those women who are married/engaged/discerning marriage, particularly after college...did you get your career in order first or did you discern while your career was still developing? I ask because I am in my late twenties yet due to the economy and my fields of choice, am on a long, hard road to financial stability. I am aware that I may not be able to have a solid career for several years, and may have to survive on contract jobs and/or a mixture of part-time jobs for the foreseeable future. I am not lazy or indecisive-- it's just been a tough market to crack since I graduated from college and I've done the best I can to survive. Meanwhile, I'm starting to see that those men who are seeking partners tend to look down on women like me. I feel like I don't have enough money or assets and won't have enough for another decade at the very least (if ever)...at which point it would most likely be too late to have a family. So, what's a girl to do? Forget about marriage until the career improves? Or work steadily on both areas? And if you're one of the lucky ones who has somehow managed to have a relationship when your career situation was less than ideal or created a plan that got you where you needed to be in an unforgiving market...how did you get there?

When my husband and I met, I had less than a one hundred dollars to my name, and a funky old car. He was still in school, and had less material goods than I. Everything we have done, we have done together. We've gone through lush times economically, and we've suffered through job loss, economic woes (hey, this economy is tough on a lot of us, you're not alone).

I think you can discern a relationship somewhat easier, believe it or not, when times are difficult-- after all, if a man looks down on you for struggling, what would he be like in a marriage when times get bad?