Discerning SFO Vocation

Well, I spoke to the Minister of the local chapter of Secular Franciscans on Friday and I my dh and I will be attending a Mass and meeting some sisters and brothers on 25 April. I am very sure I want to do this and am being called by the Holy Spirit to do this. I would like to get some feedback on this from anyone on here.

I am in a discernment process for SFO right now. There are four of us (all women) meeting with a Sister who is Franciscan and two who are already Associates. Interestingly - one of those Associates used to be a Franciscan nun and the other was once a Dominican nun!

We are meeting monthly for the next 8 or 9 months. Our next meeting (my 2nd - I missed the first one) is this coming Monday at my house. So far - I am very interested.

Hi. I am a novice (candidate) in the SFO, and if plans push through, I will be making my profession by the end of this year.

The process of accepting members in the SFO is similar to that of the religious. You start as an aspirant. You will be observing how a secular fraternity works. It is important that you ask questions to the members of the fraternity. Later, if things work well, you will be accepted in the postulancy stage known as the period of inquiry. This will be period of study about Saint Francis, the Franciscan Family and about Church teachings. Then when you complete this phase, you are accepted as novice (candidate). By this time, you are considered a Secular Franciscan, and are given the ‘visible sign of the order’. There will be a lot study here, particularly with the Rule. After this, a decision will be made by the council if you will make a temporary or perpetual profession…The whole formation process prior to the profession may take three to five years.

Again, at this point, I advice you to observe things very well and ask yourself if you were cut out for this. Discern very well. This is a vocation that lasts through life.