Discerning the Priesthood as a struggling student

Hello CAF,

I have been discerning the priesthood for about two years now. I am still in high school but am scared that I may not be accepted into seminary because of my grades. I am an B+ average student but I struggle in the areas of tests, especially the ACT/SAT. I want to enter with the FSSP because I love the Latin Mass and the old ways of seminary but I know they really care about intelligence there and check grade point averages and what not. Is this a sign that I am not called to the priesthood?

FYI My GPA is 2.85+ and my ACT score is 19.

Sincerely,

The OP

1 Like

Talk to the Vocations Director in your Diocese. They would be the ones to help you.

7 Likes

Many problems can be solved with money and this is one of them. I would hire several tutors and study a lot with them, so they can teach you how to study.

People are too afraid to spend money on tutors in my opinion. Even if you are doing very well-- and a B plus is pretty good!-- it could be a lot of fun learning how different adults approach English, History etc… You can also get a mentor out of the deal.

Work hard at something like mowing lawns so that you can afford top tutors.

so far, your grades sound fine to me.

just keep doing your best, and if you need a tutor, get one

They must have done something with grades; when I was in high school, a 2.85 was a C+. Getting a B+ may depend on so many variables that it is up to someone above most of our pay grades to determine.

You are a bit young to be worrying about the matter; first you are a junior, you are a bit early as applications normally are done in senior year. If you are a senior, then you should be in contact with the FSSP.

If you want to join the FSSP, then you need to ask them, not anonymous people on the internet who have no clue.