Discerning with doubt

I have been discerning the priesthood for several months now for several reasons some of which are I strongly feel The Lord calling me to it, I enjoy studying and learning about the faith and I’ve learned much very quickly, I believe the church is in need of vocations, and I would love to bring people closer to Jesus through the sacraments. However, I personally think but am not completely sure that I want to be married and have children to share the faith with. There is doubts on both sides of the fence though, I’ve received encouragement through prayer by a thought coming into my mind that the church will be my wife. I also believe that trying to serve The Lord and a family at the same time would be difficult. For some reason I’m still not completely into the idea of becoming a priest. Which seems selfish of me. What do you guys think? Is a vocation to the priesthood something you should want to accept 100% with no doubts? I don’t want to go against what I feel The Lord is calling me to but if I’m still attracted to marriage perhaps he isn’t calling me to the priesthood at all. I’m very confused, only time will tell I guess. Would love suggestions.

SEEK A VOCATIONS DIRECTOR AN SPIRITUAL DIRECTOR !

HA !

aww man wonder how many were waiting to say that, now who ever says that is just a copy at !

Some doubts are natural - if anything, it’d be more concerning if you didn’t have doubts. A vocations isn’t like a light switch - it’s not just turned on with near-instant results, rather it’s a journey in which you are searching, with God’s help, to find what he wants for your life. I think if you ask most priests / religious if they would have liked to have a family their answer would be “of course but the call to priesthood / religious life was stronger”. So often it’s not so much a case of one call but more of several competing calls.

Hope this helps