Discernment and Dateing

Hello!

I have been discerning the vocation to diocesan priesthood for about 3.5 years now. I have had several meetings with my church's pastor and our diocese's vocations director. I graduated high-school in this past semester, but I was definitely not ready for seminary.

Last week my best (girl) friend confessed to me that she has feelings for me. Quite strong too.

I like her as a great friend and I have feelings for her too (not as strong thou). Recently I've been getting distracted from my discernment of the religious vocation.

I have heard it said many times (and I agree) that dating is discerning the vocation of marriage with a person.

I am really confused as to the ethical attributes of my situation. I would like to date her ( Not sure if God wants me to thou) but at the same time whenever I think about the priesthood I am happy. I long for the day where I can participate actively in the mass and the sacraments.

I know I am being very hypocritical, but I really don't know what to do I am really confused.

Please help,

A confused teen discerning

Maybe God wants you to marry instead of becoming a priest.

But do what ever seems best to you without hurting anyone.

You should make an appointment and discuss this with your pastor, he is in the best position to advise you.